Congress President Poll: Nomination Starts Today


The nomination process for Congress president will begin today and will last until September 30, with several party veterans anticipated to run for the position. Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and Thiruvananthapuram MP Shashi Tharoor are widely expected to run for the position.

Both senior figures met with party interim president Sonia Gandhi, and Tharoor is understood to have voiced his willingness to run for the position.

Gehlot also met with Gandhi, telling him that he will try to persuade Rahul to take over as party leader, and that it was time for him to lead the Congress because he is already fighting the Modi government.

However, the Rajasthan Chief Minister stated that if Rahul Gandhi does not agree to take over the party's leadership, he may enter the race.

During the sessions, Sonia Gandhi stated that she would remain impartial in the party elections.

Apart from Tharoor and Gehlot, a third party leader, Digvijay Singh, is viewed as a potential contender for the role, according to news agency ANI, citing sources.

Schedule of Congress President Elections

The notification for the election of the Congress President was released on September 22, and the nomination procedure will begin today and will last until September 30. Anyone who wishes to run for the position of party president is welcome to do so.

The vote will be overseen by the Central Election Authority, which is led by senior party leader Madhusudan Mistry. The deadline for withdrawing nominations has been set at October 8. The election will be held on October 17, and the results will be announced on October 19.

Only when two candidates are in the running will voting take place. If only one candidate runs for the position, he or she will be elected without opposition.